UAE Polo Federation

Habtoor Polo and UAE Polo Teams Make it to the Finals

Finals of the Bentley Emirates Silver Cup
Finals of the Bentley Emirates Silver Cup

A chance to defend its title as the tournament champion will be in the hands of Habtoor Polo as they take on UAE Polo again this Saturday, 5 February, at Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club.

At today’s semifinals, Habtoor Polo took the lead and settled the chukker with one goal to nil. AM Polo managed to switch the advantage to their side with penalty goals from Benjamin Urquiza. The game was levelled during the third chukker with both teams having 4 goals each. Habtoor Polo carved a 3-goal lead at the penultimate chukker as each player demonstrated a skilled play. The team extended their lead at the last minutes of the game and closed it with a final score of 10 goals to 6.

Match Progression: 1 – 0 | 2 – 3 | 4 – 4 | 8- 5 | 10 – 6
Top Scorer: Bautista Bayugar, 5 goals

The next spot at the final was a battle between UAE Polo and Zedan Polo teams. The game started on equal footing as the first chukker ended with a tied score. Tommy Beresford and Sheikha Alia Al Maktoum gained the lead for UAE Polo at the end of the second chukker. It was a short-lived advantage as Tomas Panelo and Gonzalo Ferrari displayed gameplay that levelled the game at 6 goals by halftime. Both Tomas and Gonzalo had two runaway goals during the fourth chukker that extended Zedan Polo’s lead, only to be matched by Tommy’s precise penalty shots.

Early in the final chukker, Zedan Polo carved a 2 goal lead that Tommy threatened at last second. Both teams were tied at 11 goals with a penalty issued in favour of UAE Polo. The 60-yard penalty went slightly off the goal but Sheikha Alya’s swift assist beside the goal post earned the team its well-deserved spot at the Bentley Emirates Silver Cup 2022 final.

Match Progression: 1 – 1 | 4 – 3 | 6 – 6 | 9 – 9 | 12 – 11
Top Scorer: Tommy Beresford, 7 goals

The winner of the Bentley Emirates Silver Cup 2022 will be lifting the coveted trophy on the 5th of February, Field 1 of Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club.